As new information board has brought to life some of the characters who shaped the history of the Malvern Hills landscape.
The new interpretation at Gardiner’s Quarry features the Ballard family who were instrumental in setting up the Malvern Hills Conservators (now Trust) in 1884. Visitors can also find out more about the history of the Gardiner family, after who the quarry is named.
A special note of thanks has also been included to all those who donated saplings to secure the future of Thirds Wood.
With over 1 million visits to the Malvern Hills and Commons each year the Trust is improving the information provision across the Hills and Commons to help visitors find out what's so special about this landscape.
Beck Baker, Community and conservation officer, “The Malvern area is rich in heritage and we wanted to bring some of this information to life for our visitors. All the people whose stories we have told at Gardiner’s Quarry have made a lasting contribution to the Malvern Hills we know today.”
The new interpretation also includes a map of the local area to help walkers and cyclists find their way around the footpaths and bridleways of the Hills.
“Now visitors from far and wide can find out more about our local heritage as well as finding their way around this part of the Hills.”
New visitor interpretation has also been installed at North Quarry, Tank Quarry, British Camp and Black Hill car parks.
More improvements to interpretation will be made in other car parks around the Hills and Commons over the next year.